The Resource The glass castle : a memoir, Jeannette Walls

The glass castle : a memoir, Jeannette Walls

Label
The glass castle : a memoir
Title
The glass castle
Title remainder
a memoir
Statement of responsibility
Jeannette Walls
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family. The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for themselves while their parents outmaneuvered bill collectors and the authorities
Title
The glass castle
Creator
Summary
The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for themselves while their parents outmaneuvered bill collectors and the authorities
Subject
Genre
Tone
Writing style
Award
  • ALA Notable Book, 2006.
  • Alex Award, 2006.
  • Garden State Teen Book Award (New Jersey), Nonfiction, 2008.
  • Virginia Readers' Choice Award for High School, 2009.
  • New York Times Notable Book, 2005
  • YALSA Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults, 2008
  • YALSA Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults, 2015.
Biography type
autobiography
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
162654
Cataloging source
CLE
Dewey number
  • 362.82092
  • B
Illustrations
portraits
Index
no index present
LC call number
HV5132
LC item number
.W35 2006
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/lexile
1010
Literary form
non fiction
NLM call number
WS 105.5.F2
NLM item number
W215 2006
Target audience
adult
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleStatement
Jeannette Walls
Label
The glass castle : a memoir, Jeannette Walls
Link
Publication
Note
Includes a preview of the author's book : Half broke horses
http://library.link/vocab/branchCode
  • HCLS-MD
  • HCLS-MD
  • HCLS-ST
  • HCLS-ST
  • WGRL-NG
  • WGRL-NG
  • ARL-WAT
  • ARL-WAT
  • ARL-WAT
  • ARL-WAT
  • OHOOP-VIDT
  • OHOOP-VIDT
  • CHRL-LW
  • CHRL-LW
  • DCPL-CEN
  • DCPL-CEN
  • THRL-HC
  • THRL-HC
  • THRL-HC
  • THRL-HC
  • THRL-LAG
  • THRL-LAG
  • THRL-LAG
  • THRL-LAG
  • CHRL-DADE
  • CHRL-DADE
  • PIED-BKM
  • PIED-BKM
  • TRRLS-CHARL
  • TRRLS-CHARL
  • CHAT-SMRVL
  • CHAT-SMRVL
  • ARL-DAN
  • ARL-DAN
  • MGRL-SH
  • MGRL-SH
  • MGRL-SH
  • MGRL-SH
  • SGRL-LAKES
  • SGRL-LAKES
  • STRL-SWAIN
  • STRL-SWAIN
  • ARL-LEX
  • ARL-LEX
  • ROCK-NG
  • ROCK-NG
  • DTRL-SALECITY
  • DTRL-SALECITY
  • NEG-CORNEL
  • NEG-CORNEL
  • NEG-CORNEL
  • NEG-CORNEL
  • HALL-GVL
  • HALL-GVL
  • WGRL-MZ
  • WGRL-MZ
  • FRRLS-FA
  • FRRLS-FA
  • LBRLS-CORD
  • LBRLS-CORD
  • GCHR-LCO
  • GCHR-LCO
  • MGRL-LA
  • MGRL-LA
  • STRL-PEMB
  • STRL-PEMB
  • HALL-SSP
  • HALL-SSP
  • PMRLS-MPL
  • PMRLS-MPL
  • SGRL-HAHIRA
  • SGRL-HAHIRA
  • TLLS-MV
  • TLLS-MV
  • OKRL-BACON
  • OKRL-BACON
  • GCHR-HAR
  • GCHR-HAR
  • MOGL-BWK
  • MOGL-BWK
  • TCPLS-THOMAS
  • TCPLS-THOMAS
  • WGRL-MR
  • WGRL-MR
  • CPRL-R
  • CPRL-R
  • LBRLS-DOOLY
  • LBRLS-DOOLY
  • WGRL-DC
  • WGRL-DC
  • WGRL-DC
  • WGRL-DC
  • WGRL-DC
  • WGRL-DC
  • WGRL-DC
  • WGRL-DC
  • MGRL-RV
  • MGRL-RV
  • MGRL-RV
  • MGRL-RV
  • BTRL-MCD
  • BTRL-MCD
  • HOU-PE
  • HOU-PE
  • BROOK-HQ
  • BROOK-HQ
  • ARL-WINT
  • ARL-WINT
  • WGRL-BKM
  • WGRL-BKM
  • WGRL-BKM
  • WGRL-BKM
  • NGRL-CG
  • NGRL-CG
  • NGRL-CG
  • NGRL-CG
  • NGRL-DW
  • NGRL-DW
  • NGRL-DW
  • NGRL-DW
  • WGRL-CR
  • WGRL-CR
  • DTRL-BLAK
  • DTRL-BLAK
  • ARL-LAV
  • ARL-LAV
  • ARL-ROY
  • ARL-ROY
  • OKRL-WWC
  • OKRL-WWC
  • NCLS-NEWBRN
  • NCLS-NEWBRN
  • WGRL-LS
  • WGRL-LS
  • WGRL-LS
  • WGRL-LS
  • STRL-METT
  • STRL-METT
  • SHRL-RM
  • SHRL-RM
  • SHRL-RM
  • SHRL-RM
  • WGRL-DR
  • WGRL-DR
  • MGRL-RO
  • MGRL-RO
  • MGRL-RO
  • MGRL-RO
  • MGRL-RO
  • MGRL-RO
  • MGRL-RO
  • MGRL-RO
  • MGRL-JO
  • MGRL-JO
  • STRL-SBORO
  • STRL-SBORO
  • OHOOP-TATG
  • OHOOP-TATG
  • OHOOP-LYON
  • OHOOP-LYON
  • STRL-CLAX
  • STRL-CLAX
  • RML-MAIN
  • RML-MAIN
  • SGRL-VALDOSTA
  • SGRL-VALDOSTA
  • ECPL-ECPL
  • ECPL-ECPL
  • ORLS-BLE
  • ORLS-BLE
  • SGRL-LANIER
  • SGRL-LANIER
  • OCRL-SOPER
  • OCRL-SOPER
  • WGRL-HQ
  • WGRL-HQ
  • NEG-TOCCOA
  • NEG-TOCCOA
  • OCRL-SANDR
  • OCRL-SANDR
  • OCRL-SANDR
  • OCRL-SANDR
  • MGRL-WA
  • MGRL-WA
  • MGRL-WA
  • MGRL-WA
  • PIED-JEF
  • PIED-JEF
  • PIED-JEF
  • PIED-JEF
  • PIED-COM
  • PIED-COM
  • WGRL-TEM
  • WGRL-TEM
  • KRLS-CA
  • KRLS-CA
  • PPL-BPL
  • PPL-BPL
  • OHOOP-JDHAZ
  • OHOOP-JDHAZ
  • CPRL-T
  • CPRL-T
  • STRL-RHILL
  • STRL-RHILL
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
4213952
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
1st Scribner trade pbk. ed.
Extent
288, [11] pages
Isbn
9780743247542
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
portraits
http://library.link/vocab/recordID
4213952
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocm65210928
  • (OCoLC)65210928

Subject

Genre

Member of

Library Locations

    • Alma-Bacon County Public LibraryBorrow it
      201 N Pierce St, Alma, GA, 31510-2535, US
      31.545 -82.461601
    • Waycross-Ware County Public LibraryBorrow it
      401 Lee Ave, Waycross, GA, 31501-3000, US
      31.207899 -82.353897

Library Links


Processing Feedback ...